I remember growing up … even as a little tyke

And my Grandma would always say to me ‘Patience is a virtue’

Well, I am American. We don’t have patience. WE WANT IT NOW! We live in a consumerist society where our “needs/wants/desires” are to be instantly validated.

There have been many times throughout my life where I haven’t been patient. I have ‘jumped the gun’ and demanded answers right now. They mainly manifest from a state of wanting to be validated or worry.

If I were to just get the answer now, then I would KNOW for sure what that person was thinking/what the outcome will be.

It’s an exhausting life to lead when we are constantly impatient. The need for answers is the most important thing in our lives sometimes, we actually forget to live. There have been so many hours/days/minutes/moments wasted in my life worrying about what someone’s response would be and/or what the outcome will be.

I have moved to Australia from America and it’s helped so much. I can’t believe that I am the person that I am now, looking back upon my life in the past four years.

In many instances, it’s about the person that I have been shaped by due to the much more relaxed environment of Australia. However, what I do know is that my impatient bones still creeps in and rattles around. It’s still there, part of me I suppose.

Since letting my faith take over my life, well again me being patient with that development, I have learned that God works in mysterious/timely/untimely ways.

James 5:7-11

Be patient, then, brothers, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop and how patient he is for the autumn and spring rains. // You too, be patient and stand firm, because the Lord’s coming is near. // Don’t grumble against each other brothers, or you will be judged. The Judge is standing at the door. // Brothers, as an example of patience in the face of suffering, take the prophets who spoke in the name of the Lord. // As you know, we consider blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and n when the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy

I come from a farming background and the faith that farmers put into the earth/God to bring them next year’s crop and/or harvest is something that many people never experience. It’s not predictable, it’s not easy…and yet the faith which many of them endure is something I am glad I was raised with.

The point is, and something that I have to drill home in my head, is that GOD HAS A PLAN. I hear this all the time, but to open your heart to this realisation is something that I struggle with. Being a new Christian, I have spent the past 26 years following my plan. WHAT I WANT. I don’t want to have to wait for God to work. I want the answers NOW!

It’s not easy, but I have found more than once, that when I step back and cast my anxieties on God, I am able to live the life that God has set out for me.

Pslams 27:13-14

I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. // Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord

I know that God will provide, I am learning to open my heart to this…each day a little more.

~Farm Girl

