I have to admit that I am a woman who struggles with a need, that is deep within my soul, to be validated. It’s not something that I am uber proud of and I KNOW that it can suffocate those people who are around me at times. It stems back far and wide and perhaps it’s an innate quality in every single human being. We want to be accepted.

How do you actually get to a place in your life where you cast out all of the things that you want and need in order to just be with what you have? Forgetting about the job, house, partner, kids, weight loss, vacation, new car, more friends, deeper connection with your faith. To let that all go?

Scary.

But I have to admit as well that for much of my life I have spent wanting something, someone, that I don’t have and/or that isn’t right for me.

It’s zapped away YEARS of my life pinning after men who weren’t there for me emotionally. It’s zapped countless nights worried about calories. Many moments stressing about the next step. Desperate prayers to God asking for instant healing.

What if I just stopped, looked at my gifts and then started giving those out?
What if instead of demanding more for life for ME…I started giving of ME to those around me?

Ephesians 4:7

But to each one of us grace has been given as Christ apportioned it.

We all have grace. We have talents, abilities, insights, spiritual gifts that have been given to us. So often we stifle what we are good at because we think that: ‘we aren’t that good’ or ‘I don’t know if I can really give anything’ or ‘But that makes me feel weird’ or ‘I don’t like opening myself up like that’.

Ephesians 4: 12-16

to prepare God’s people for works of service, so that the body of c rst may be built up // until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ. // Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming. // Instead, speaking the truth of love, we will in things grow up into him who the Head, this is, Christ. // From him the whole body, joined and held together by ever supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.

At the end of the day we can sit here and make a list of all the reasons why people are meant to be on this earth. Money/sex/relationships/babies/yachts/careers. But what if I told you that I am beginning to realise that NONE of the above reasons make ANY difference if you’re not using what you’ve been given to those around you?

I walked away with something that I have never felt before..a renewed sense of purpose in my life. That really my job, my focus isn’t about shutting people out…it’s actually about letting people in, using my gifts to share my own journey/insight/faith/support with people. The beauty of building up and releasing the confidence of your own spiritual gifts is that the confidence in who you are, your own faith and spiritual growth is deepened.

A need to be validated outside of who you are and where you want to be can be replaced with the calm that you know you can achieve whatever you want through Christ by sharing the beauty that has been given to you with others.

~Farm Girl

