I remember once when I was at my church and the pastor telling a story about his wife.

She was a new Christian at a gathering. They were all talking about their favourite parts of the Bible. She didn’t know many of the books. However, when it was her turn she spit out the one that first came to her. It was ‘Songs of Solomon’. (laughter erupts) If my wife thinks her most favourite book of the Bible is ‘Songs of Solomon’ then I am one happy man.

Man, I could probably still not identify my most favourite book of the Bible because honestly I haven’t read through every single one of them. Thus, I don’t think it would be fair to exclude one without due just. If I had to say…I would say Isaiah, OT, and 1 Peter NT.

But that’s not the point of this conversations. It’s actually to talk about my first impressions of Songs of Solomon. I will totally admit that I read this the other day blindly..ok I am not blind. I mean intellectually/background blind. I actually still have not researched anything about it. I am ok with that for the purpose of this conversation.

What struck me were two things.

1. The beauty of courtship
2. The idea of waiting

The beauty of courtship is so evident and I love it.

I slept but my heart was awake. Listen! My lover is knocking; “Open to me, my sister, my darling, my dove, my flawless one. My head is drenched with dew, my hair with dampness of the night” SofS 5:2

But my own vineyard is mine to give; the thousand shekels are for you, O Solomon, and two hundred are for those who tend its fruit. SofS 8:12

But what caught me off guard, honestly, was in the following passages 2:7 and 8:4 and the idea of waiting

Daughters of Jerusalem, I charge you. Do not arouse or awaken love until it so desires

I actually highlighted both times it was said in this book, because it struck me.

First, because I have written about sex, relationships and how I have found that to be the hardest thing for me to overcome as of late in my walk as a Christian. Having not abstained before,  and now  approaching relationships as a Christian, I find that it is so much harder to abstain then if I hadn’t done anything.

but it made me think.

Secondly, I think it’s almost out of place at first glance. Why in the midst of the sexual courtship of words does the beloved mention this. A cautionary tale, word of advice, snipped of wisdom,

and yet I find it beautifully placed.

I don’t know if it is a warning per say. Rather a ‘heads up’. Don’t rush these things ladies. Don’t push yourself onto anyone because it’s not genuine when you do that. Men: love, court, intoxicate and appreciate a woman. But it’s more than just the sexual innuendos and suggestive wording of this book. I think it marks a much larger area in the development of relationships

intimacy

Intimacy in our world is one which is commonly caged in sex. Sexual intimacy.

What intimacy has been robbed of is emotional, spiritual and respectful beauty. We no longer place value upon getting to know someone, whilst showing interest. We show interest through often times, in the least intimate way by engaging too early in sex. Thus robbing the tree of the roots. Starving it of life.

What I believe the beloved is saying is…plant your roots. Don’t force it to grow if it isn’t ready. Be patient and nurture it.

This is one passage in the Bible that has reached out, smacked me across the face, and has made all of the angst I have had about waiting…dissolve slowly.

Cause really…doesn’t every girl want this?

Come away, my lover, and be like a gazelle or like a young stag on the spice laden mountains. SofS 8:14

~Farm Girl

