I was speaking to one of my close friends today and she was asking how everything was going. I told her that my life, as I know it, is at the best place in my life.

Why?

Because I have been willing to suffer.

There’s a lot of suffering to be entered into this world—the kind of suffering Christ takes on. Colossians 1:24

So much of our life, especially in the modern context, is about alleviating suffering. If that’s finding quicker ways to make food, quieter buildings to live in, life-prolonging medications or addiction to alleviate any sort of discomfort.

We are afraid of discomfort. We are afraid of suffering.

I have used food, dieting obsession, body-image to alleviate a lot of emotional struggles that I have had…and I realise I not mine..in many instances they are generational.

What is amazing, and what has hit me, is that my wanting to ‘run away’ and ‘numb’ out my own internal inadequacies rear their ugly heads when I am farthest away from my faith.

So keep a firm grip on the faith. The suffering won’t last forever. It won’t be long before this generous God who has great plans for us in Christ—eternal and glorious planet they are—will have you put together and on your feet for good. He get the last word, yes, he does. 1 Peter 5:9-11

In those moments of shoving cake down in throat, looking at my body and hating every single curve that God has blessed me with and/or choosing men who didn’t support my self-esteem à I wasn’t drawing close to God AND I was not willing to suffer.

In order to grow, we have to suffer.

In order to suffer, we have to draw closer to God.

In order to grow, we have to suffer.

In order to suffer AND find GROWTH we MUST fall upon God’s strength.

What is there honestly to be afraid of with God on our side? What possible level of suffering can we NOT endure without God?

God is there, ready to help;

I’m fearless o matter what.

Who or what can get me?

Hebrews 13:6

When we run from suffering, from growth, from pain, from discomfort…and stay in our old ways…we are not drawing God close.

If you want to move to the place that you’ve always feared, you will most likely endure suffering of some kind…but you’re going to be ok. The scariest part is letting go of the stagnant place that you’re in.

For me, that stagnant place was a place where I kept God, my own self-love, and people at arms length. I was scared of God’s love for me. In fact I told someone else today “That as a new Christian, I was over-whelmed by God’s love for me. It was incomprehensible to me at the beginning.”

What I’ve realised is that GOD is there THE WHOLE TIME when we are suffering. That in moments of weakness, wanting to go back to old ways…it’s actually me not keeping my relationship with God in check. It’s not keeping my heart open to my own self-love, which I’ve garnered from my relationship with God.

So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you, he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God, hs is most careful with you. 1 Peter 5:6-7

Having the approach which enables you to truly take on the suffering that you’ve been avoiding to advance your life…with God..will get you to where you need to be.

Draw God close, he’s waiting to give you wings.

~FarmGirl

I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become. 2 Corinthians 12:10

